The day-to-day operations of Think Ahead are overseen by a board of trustees (pictured above), which has overall legal responsibility for the charity. The existing trustees are all local people affected by stroke, either as stroke survivors or those who care for them and the majority are founder members of Think Ahead.

From strategic planning to operational delivery, the board members have a wealth of knowledge and management experience and meet each month to assess and decide on group policy and debate the effectiveness of current activities.

The board of trustees is currently chaired by Mike Aspinall, with Neville Andrews as Treasurer. A board member sits on every working group, with Neville Andrews and Mavis Thomas acting as joint Chair of the Trips Working Group; Marlene Stockley and Dorothy Cartwright as joint Chair of the Respite Working Group and Elaine Wilcock taking the lead on the support offered to carers.